Quiet Emotions

5 Jul

I wrote this while thinking of a person from my past that has always had a place of his own in my heart and not a day has gone by in twelve years that he hadn’t crossed my mind at least once, whether it be when I’d pass a place we used to hang out, a song we used to listen to, a band we both loved…he was always there. He’s back, the friendship is still just as strong as it ever was and I guess the road does eventually bring those that are meant to be a part of your life back to you. I value this friendship so much and thank God for it everyday.

Sometimes life has a way of turning out differently than you had hoped and what were good friendships fall by the wayside. It’s not on purpose, it’s not that they don’t care, it’s just the route life tends to take. If the friendship is true, even though your paths may take you in different directions, your hearts are always still going the same direction. True friendship never ends, it just slows down and takes a break every once in awhile. Keep those people in your heart and on your minds, never let them go even if they seem to have let you go. If you love someone enough, you have to let them go and if they come back, they were yours to begin with, if they don’t, they never were and that’s ok. Let them fly and just know that your friendship is strong enough to let them go.

Quiet Emotions by Judy Burnette

I always wanted more from you
than you were willing to give;
So now we’ve gone our separate ways
each with different lives to live.

The bond will always be there
the friendship always intact;
But the time for us has come and gone
and the pages of time, you can’t turn back.

I will always be a friend to you
and wonder how you are;
The smiles and laughter I will remember
and our fights have become painless scars.

Sometimes on those busy days
when you’ve a thousand things to do;
Please let me glide slowly through your mind
and spend some time with you.

In that quiet moment
when you’re surprised to find me there;
Just remember even with the distance between us
I am still someone who cares.

Leave a comment