Passion … Is It Something You Have?

12 Aug

I was watching a show on GAC tonight about Jamey Johnson (“In Color”, “High Cost of Living”), an amazing singer/songwriter and just listening to his thoughts about why he does what he does, why he writes the things he writes and where those lyrics come from, how personal they are, made me see just what having a true passion is about. He was talking about the songs he writes and the fact that they come from so deep inside and are so personal to him that he decided to stop pitching to other artists for a cut and decided that he needed to be the one to tell his stories. That’s passion, that’s believing in yourself and what you do.

Passion is defined as “putting more energy into something than is required to do it. It is more than just enthusiasm or excitement, passion is ambition that is materialized into action to put as much heart, mind body and soul into something as is possible.” Passion is something or someone you truly love, is very important to you and is an integral part of who you are as a person. If you have true passion, you fight for it and it reflects in your attitude, in your character, in your words, in your actions and it shows the world just who you really are. Over the past few years, I’ve really discovered where my passions lie…

Music
Ya’ll know I love music, I’m transparent on that subject, you can see right through me. I’ve always loved music ever since I was a little girl in ponytails, sitting beside the stereo wearing my dad’s big 70’s headphones and listening to Karen Carpenter’s expressive and uniquely melodic voice coming through the turntable. It’s always been a part of my daily life from singing in the choir in elementary school, to blaring car stereo in high school, to understanding just where music and it’s stories come from over the past few years.

There is a songwriter in Nashville that I met online and later became offline friends, John Griffin, that first opened my eyes, my ears, my heart and my mind to the inner workings of a song. His music showed me that songs were meant to be written from experience, from tragedy and happiness, from loneliness and togetherness, and more than anything, from the heart. Because of that random meeting with John, I have come to be friends with several other artists who have shown me that with different emotions come different words, from different words come different melodies and those different melodies and words should evoke different emotions. They taught me to listen beyond the melody and immerse yourself in the workings of the song, the story that the writer is trying to tell. These people have given me a whole new outlook on how I listen to music and how I now determine what is “truly good music on a personal level” as opposed to the popular opinion of good music. Thank you guys for your influence, your friendship and for writing the songs that make me want to listen just a little closer. This is the reason I do what I do, promote good artists. If it wasn’t for them, we wouldn’t have such a wide variety of music, nothing to tap our feet and sing out loud to, to cry to and to feel good to.

Family and Friends
Family and friends are the most important thing I have in my life – those who love me for who I am and for the person I am striving to be, the ones who love me at my worst because that’s when I need it the most. These are the people I need by my side, the people I hold closest to my heart. I have the best friends and family that could have ever been chosen just for me. These people believe in ME, support me in what I choose to do even if they know it’s not the best decision, they don’t say “I told you so” when I fail and they do say “I knew you could” when I succeed. They are there when I rise and there to catch me when I fall. They don’t care if I’m not perfect, make mistakes or even if I trip over my own words sometimes. They don’t care if I’m having a bad hair day, decide not to wear makeup, or if my ass is the size of a small planet in my jeans. They give me love, encouragement and they give me security. They give me reason to be a better person. I would do anything for any one of you and the only thing I would hope is that I can be as good to you as you are to me. Love is just a word until you find someone to give it definition. To my amazing friends and family, I love you beyond words – thank you for giving me definition.

Time To Myself and My Thoughts
Although I love time with those I love, I also love time with myself. I love to get in the car and drive, winding up somewhere I can enjoy my surroundings and learn to appreciate the little things that eventually become the big things. I love to go out to the park at the pond with my iPod, my camera and a notebook. I like to write about the things going on in my life, the things I wish were going on in my life and the things I’m glad are no longer going on in my life. I write about my goals, my wishes and what’s going on around me. I take a blanket and sit in the grass with a good book and enjoy the silence. I love taking photos of things most people take for granted…the frogs in the pond, the leaves on the trees in the fall, the flowers in the spring. I like to people watch, wonder what they’re doing, what they’re thinking, wonder why they’re wearing that horrible color shirt and who told them it looked good off the rack. I take in the things around me, the sounds, the colors. Sounds corny, I know, but I love it. I love to walk in the rain, walk in the woods, walk on the beach. I love playing with my dog and seeing that unconditional love he has for me and I have for him. I learn to look past the obvious and find something beautiful and worthwhile in life and especially in people.

Life is ours to borrow…it’s not eternal (down here anyway) and it’s not foolproof. It’s something to be valued, enjoyed and never taken for granted. Learn to enjoy what you have, see what you can have and not dwell on what you wish you had. Life is just good, even when it’s bad, it’s good. Enjoy this moment, this moment is your life.

Leave a Reply

